GEOLAC 2018 Award Winners Announced!


GEOLAC Award WinnersThe Geothermal Congress for Latin America and the Caribbean (GEOLAC), the largest annual gathering of the regional geothermal market, today announced five winners for its first annual GEOLAC Industry Awards. The winners were recognized on stage at the 5th GEOLAC in Mexico City. 

New Energy Events, the organizers of GEOLAC, partnered with ThinkGeoEnergy to create the awards program with the purpose of recognizing and rewarding excellence in geothermal across the region over a five-year period.

“As an industry, geothermal needs to advocate strongly and ensure that its message packs a punch,” said Matthew Perks, CEO of New Energy Events. “Part of that advocacy is recognizing excellence and showcasing to a wider audience the positive impacts of geothermal when well executed. We’ve seen excellent programs and projects come out of the region in the past few years; now let’s recognize them.”

“It is important to recognize achievements by market players that drive geothermal development and serve as shining examples for further growth of the sector in the region of Latin America and the Caribbean,” said Alexander Richter, Principal at ThinkGeoEnergy. “Partnering with New Energy Events to award outstanding achievements is therefore a great pleasure for ThinkGeoEnergy.”

The awards program drew candidates from Central America, South America, Mexico, and the Caribbean. The selected award winners represent the entities who have had a profound impact on geothermal development and progress in Latin America and the Caribbean. As geothermal continues to progress in the region, GEOLAC looks forward to further recognition of those making innovations and applying best practice industry standards to project development.

 Award recipients were chosen by an industry-leading Advisory Committee including Alexander Richter, Founder, ThinkGeoEnergy & President, International Geothermal Association, Tanja Faller, Director Geothermal Program, CentAm, GIZ, Mike Long, Senior Project Manager, Power Engineers, Ann Robertson-Tait, Senior Geologist, GeothermEx Inc, Mike Allen, Executive Director, Geothermal New Zealand, and Julie Taylor, Editorial Director, New Energy Events.

GEOLAC 2018 Industry Award Winners



Cerro Pabellón – Geotérmica del Norte



Geothermal Development Facility for Latin America 



Geothermal greenhouse for social reintegration in Aysén



LaGeo, El Salvador



Ing. Magaly Flores Armenta


Download Press Release here: GEOLAC 2018 Awards Press Release FINAL

For more information, please contact Julie Taylor at For general media enquiries, please contact Arabella Stickels at