Dr. Eric Deans

Jamaica Special Economic Zone Authority

Currently serving as Chairman, Jamaica Logistics Hub Task Force and Chief Executive Officer, Jamaica Special Economic Zone Authority, Dr. Deans is the principal architect of Jamaica’s Global Logistics Hub Initiative.

Dr. Deans is a member of the Core Implementation Team of the Jamaica Gansu Industrial Park & Special Economic Zone and a member of the Caymanas SEZ Enterprise Team.

A former member of the Board of Directors of Kingston Free Zone; Montego Bay Free Zone Board; Kingston Container Terminal Privatization Enterprise Team; Caymanas Special Economic Zone Enterprise Team and Deputy Chairman, Advisory Board for the Jamaica Customs Agency. He also served as Registrar General for the Jamaica Ship Registry.

A member of the Chartered Institute of Transport, U.K., Connecticut Maritime Association and American Association of Port Authorities.

Dr. Deans has a solid history of environmental stewardship, including serving as a member of the IMO Expert Group on market based measures to reduce ship emissions; Jamaican representative to the Marine Environment Protection Committee of the IMO and former National Coordinator for the Wider Caribbean Initiative on ship generated wastes.

Dr. Deans is a “Delaware Ph.D” having gained his terminal degree in Marine Policy on a full academic scholarship at the second oldest university in the USA, the University of Delaware (only Harvard is older). Also a graduate of the University of Wales with a Master of Science degree in Maritime Studies as a Commonwealth Scholar; and the University of the West Indies with a (B.Sc.) in Chemistry. As a Maritime Policy expert his skill sets include maritime economics, maritime and admiralty law, environmental economics and commercial aspects of ports and shipping management.

Professor Deans is an Associate Professor in Logistics and Supply Chain Sustainability at the Caribbean Maritime University and serves as Executive Director of the CMU’s Centre for Sustainable Supply Chains and as a member of the Academic Board.