GEOLAC 2015, the third event in the series, took place in Nicaragua, and was the largest to date gathering 140 stakeholders from 30 countries. 13 regional governments were represented by senior officials.

Speakers included:

Hon. Salvador Mansell Castrillo, Minister of Energy & Mining, President, ENATREL
Santiago Bermúdez, Director of Renewable Energies, Ministry of Energy & Mines, Nicaragua
Marc Murnaghan, CEO, Polaris Infrastructure Inc.
Silvia Alvarado, Director, National Commission of Electric Energy – Guatemala
Charles Feinstein, Director, Energy & Extractives Global Practice, The World Bank
Marco Antonio Escobar Seleme, Project Director, Laguna Colorada, ENDE – Bolivia
Rene Soto, Director General of Energy, Secretariat of Energy, Natural Resources, Environment, and Mines – Honduras
Luis Alberto Vega Alva, Senior Official, Office of Electric Concessions, Ministry of Energy & Mining – Peru
Ernesto Martínez Tiffer, Executive President, Empresa Nicaragüense de Electricidad (ENEL)
Michelle Alejandra Ramirez Bueno, Director of Geothermal, Ministry of Energy (SENER) – Mexico
Juan Luis del Valle Luarca, Project Director, Grupo Dragon
Miguel Ángel Hernández Alfaro, Coordinator of Financial Management, Business Engineering and Construction, ICE
Matthias Tönnis, Senior Underwriter and Geologist, Munich Re
H.E. Dr. Vince Henderson, Permanent Representative & Ambassador of the Commonwealth of Dominica to the United Nations
José Estévez, Commercial Director, Grupo CEL – El Salvador
Sylvester Clauzel, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Sustainable Development and Energy – St. Lucia
Ellsworth Dacon, Director of Energy Unit, Ministry of National Security, Air & Seaport Development – St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Hon. Ian “Patches” Liburd, Minister, Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Post, Urban Development and Transport – St. Kitts
Hon. Troy Liburd, Minister, Ministry of Communications, Public Works, Public Utilities, Posts, Physical Planning, Natural Resources, and Environment – Nevis


120 participants from over 20 countries participated in GEOLAC 2014. GEOLAC is co-hosted by the World Bank Group.

Speakers included:

Hon. Edgar Gutiérrez Espeleta, Minister of Environment, Energy, Sea, Coasts & Wetlands, Costa Rica
Hon. Emilio Rappaccioli, Ministry of Energy & Mines, Nicaragua
Hon. Rayburn Blackmoore, Minister of Public Works – Dominica
Hon. U. Troy Liburd, Junior Minister, Ministry of Communications, Works, Public Utilities, Natural Resources and Environment – Nevis
Christian Santana, Director, Renewable Energy Division, Ministry of Energy, Chile
Luis Nicho, Director General – Electricity, Ministry of Energy & Mining – Peru
Hon. Edwin Rodas, Vice Minister of Energy & Mining, Guatemala
Anita George, Senior Director, Energy and Extractives Global Practice, The World Bank
Alejandro Melandri, Chief (ag). Energy Division, Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
Carlos Obregón Quesada, Executive President, ICE – Costa Rica
Pierre Audinet, Clean Energy Program Leader, ESMAP, The World Bank
Jens Wirth, Senior Project Manager, KfW – Germany
Mauricio Garron, Senior Energy Specialist, CAF – Venezuela
Dr. Gerardo Hiriart, Director General, ENAL – Mexico
Ariel Sacerdoti, Vice President, International Business Development, Ormat – USA


100 participants from 21 countries participated in the inaugural GEOLAC in 2012.

Underpinning the conference was a world-class agenda.

Speakers included:

  • Honorable René Castro, Minister of Environment, Energy & Telecommunications, Government of Costa Rica
  • Hon. Edwin Rodas, Vice Minister, Minister of Energy and Mines, Government of Guatemala
  • Honorable Emilio Rappaccioli, Minister of Energy & Mines, Government of Nicaragua
  • Honorable Carlisle Powell, Minister of Public Utilities, Natural Resources & Environment, Nevis Island Administration
  • Honorable Deputy Alfonso Pérez Gómez, Deputy of the Legislative Assembly – Government of Costa Rica
  • Michael T. Eckhart, Managing Director, Global Head of Environmental Finance, Citi Corporate and Investment Banking USA
  • Teofilo de la Torre, President, ICE – Costa Rica